Have I got a project for you!

This past weekend I learned that Penguin Books, UK, is taking unsolicited manuscripts until the 31st of October. As their policy is not to accept unsolicited manuscripts this is a rare opportunity indeed!

I have a young adult novel half-finished, and I’m going to be putting the boots to it to get it done in time. I plan to have the first draft done at the very latest by October 15th. Three intrepid readers have agreed to give me their thoughts by the 20th, and then I’ll have ten days to rewrite and polish.

I have yet to submit a novel to a publisher – the most I’ve done is grant applications. (Got another one of those coming up, too – yikes!)

Check out the Penguin Books link under “Ampersand’s Writing Sites” and scroll down.

Opportunity has knocked. In the immortal words of Duke Ellington, “I don’t need time. What I need is a deadline.”

We’ve got our deadline, people – I, for one, am going to make it. Who’s joining me?

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Fumbling towards competence, Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

