Refilling the well

News flash! I haven’t written a story, a poem, an essay or anything like that for a whole week – not since I finished up the first draft of “The Swan Harp”. I think I’ve temporarily written myself out, and I need to recharge the batteries, refill the well. I’m doing it with clay and paper. I’m not feeling the least bit guilty about not writing, either, although I am starting to feel a story coming on.

The responses from my readers are coming in, one at a time. In some things they’re remarkably consistent. I know I need to straighten out the timeline in one part; three different readers have told me so. In others – well, different people notice different things, and that’s why it’s nice to have more than a couple of readers.

One thing I’ve been doing with my writing this past week is hunting up new markets and submitting. Still getting those rejections – I haven’t had an acceptance for a while, but it’ll come eventually. In the meantime, every story that comes back will be going out again to another market. Every market that turns me down will see something else from me. And more of those rejections are coming with “send us something else”, which is good. The quote on Hope Clark’s “Funds for Writers” newsletter this week was A.S. King: “My theory is, if I’m not getting a rejection every week, I’m not working.”

I like this. I’ve had 114 rejections so far this year, so I must be working!

If I don’t want to write fiction, I have rewriting to do on my non-fiction book. Two readers have sent that back with very helpful comments, too. I could spend a happy afternoon on that, after a happy morning in the pottery studio making lizard-handled mugs. And, of course, I have more time to throw the ball for Sky.

In short, this week has been one of recuperating from one big push and preparing for another to come. Life is good – I get to do what I love.

It’s October, and summer is definitely over. The roses are still blooming, but there was frost on them this morning. Autumn is my favourite season, and I feel a creative surge coming up. With the Penguin Books deadline and my proposed NaNoWriMo madness, a creative surge would be a very, very good thing indeed.

In the meantime, I’m off to make a cup of tea and throw the ball for the dog.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Fumbling towards competence and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

