That was a week!

It’s been an incredible week.

My cheque arrived, and I got all shaky and fluttery all over again. The feeling that I don’t have to worry about living expenses while I complete this novel is unfamiliar to me. I’m having an attitude adjustment period here. On Wednesday David and I will be going to Sudbury to pick up crickets for the pet store, and I’ll buy my bottle of champagne then and celebrate with my writers’ group on Sunday.

I sorted out another subplot in the novel and am very happy with where it’s going and the complications it’s creating in the story. I’ve also had responses from adult men among my friends which indicate that this may be a fantasy novel which is not limited in appeal to young adults. With that in mind, I’ve decided to enter it in for Terry Pratchett Prize for a first novel of adult fantasy.

My friends Angie and Gordon, who recently adopted a daughter, Cassidy, were thrown a baby shower at Tina’s on Main in Thessalon. It was a lovely afternoon with really good food and of course the opportunity to hold Cassidy. I’m her witchy godmother, which is wonderful.

I wanted to make her a mobile with origami cranes on it. My original plan was to cut slender pieces of willow or alder to hold the cranes, but David came up with a better idea. He suggested a twisty poplar branch, which he cut and trimmed carefully, leaving twigs to hold the cranes. We found the balance point and wrapped it with brass wire, then I hung the cranes with fishing line from the twigs. It really looked much more beautiful and striking than my original idea. I didn’t have time to take a picture before the shower, but I’ll post one as soon as I can photograph it in Cassidy’s room.

So now the excitement has toned down to the point where I can go back to work, immerse myself in my own world-building and get on with finishing the second draft of this novel. There will still be work to do, I’m sure of it, but already I have a story that is much, much better than the first draft.

I’m still thinking about NaNoWriMo, but the grant has seriously changed that. My first priority now has to be The Swan Harp. If I can fit NaNoWriMo around that, well and good – if not, there’s always next year.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

