Take this novel and…

…rewrite it in 600 words.

No, I’m not kidding. That is, apparently, more or less how you do a synopsis.

Penguin doesn’t want to see the whole manuscript; all they want is a pitch letter and synopsis. “All” – ha! I’ve written one synopsis already, and it sucked, hugely. Made the book seem boring. I have confirmation on this from Angie, who looked it over for me at the 640-word stage.

“This doesn’t need forty words cut from it,” she told me. She was far too tactful to say what it did need, which was a flamethrower.

The good news is that my boring synopsis is the first step in writing a good one. At least now I have a blow-by-blow of what happens in the novel and I can use that as I would an outline. A friend on Zoetrope referred me to Marg Gilks’ excellent article on how to write a synopsis, and another friend told me that her synopsis looked like flash fiction when it was done.

Hallelujah! I can write flash fiction! I’ve written literally hundreds of pieces of flash fiction in the last three years. I can do this!

It’s not to say I won’t be sweating it, because I will. I have five days to write this synopsis and a pitch letter which will, I hope, knock the socks off some editor at Penguin and make her – or him – want to see my manuscript. My laptop is coming with me today, and if I can keep the dog out of my lap, I can begin work on the good synopsis this morning en route to Sudbury.

I’ll keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Fumbling towards competence, Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

