And now I wait

A few minutes ago I gave my synopsis and pitch letter another going-over. I don’t know if it’s perfect, but I believe it’s as perfect as I can make it. I sent it in.

So now I wait. While I wait, I’ll be finishing that second draft. There’s still almost a week’s worth of work to do on it, and about a week to do it – I’ve promised a couple of my readers that they’ll be able to see the second draft by November 7th. I’m sure I’m going to have to do a third draft.

Once the second draft is done, I’ll need to take a break from this novel for a few weeks. I’ve been working on it almost non-stop for more than seven weeks now. After I’ve taken a vacation from it, I’ll give it a hard read through with my red pencil.

Between making up my mind to hit this deadline and getting the grant that is going to let me write in peace for months to come, something has changed in me. I know now that I can complete a large project, which gives me confidence that I can go back to my first novel and complete that, too. Right now I’m stuck on how to fit two years of backstory into a three-week main story. But you know what? I’ll figure it out. I can do this.

I also have three, maybe four, other ideas for novels. I have ideas for short stories. My Muse is saying, “Good! You’ve got that one in, and it’s out of our hair for the time being; what else can we do before the year ends?”

Well, I have to think about my family book, a book of my own stories from the past year that I make for family and friends every Christmas. I have Christmas cards to make; it’s a treat to spend several days playing with paper, and fun to decide what I’ll do this year – will it be a poem or a pop-up? I have more pottery I want to do, some for Christmas presents, some commissions.

I still need to get about thirty submissions in to make my new goal of two hundred and fifty. Some of these are things I’ve already decided on – this story to that publication, the minute the publication’s reading period opens again. Some are still to be decided.

But, but, but – I got it in! I made the deadline! I set my goal and I achieved it! You know what this means, don’t you?

Bubbly at writers’ group tomorrow, that’s what!

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

