That’s not funny – yet

I’ve written humour for years; the first piece I was ever paid for was called “A Loom with a Zoo”, and made the back page humour section of “Threads” magazine. (For anyone who really wants to find it, it was the September 1990 issue.) When I started writing for radio, my first gig was slice-of-life humour about rural life and its trials, from skunks in the mudroom to frozen pipes.

It was that gig that made me realize an important element of humour; it often comes from things that aren’t funny at all. The radio piece I wrote about frozen pipes came out of a winter day spent seesawing from frustration to depression. David was working in Sault Ste Marie, and I was at home alone. We’d just moved to the country the previous June; it was my first winter heating with wood, and I was still learning how to keep the house warm and how to keep the fire from going out at night. Mostly I was failing at that last. I had rabbits in the barn and David’s birds in the house, and I woke up that morning to a cold house, frozen pipes, a screaming cockatoo demanding food and the knowledge that every bit of water used that day would have to be melted from snow on the wood stove. I could neither run water nor flush the toilet. And I had the flu.

I survived, the rabbits survived, even the cockatoo survived, and by the time I wrote about the experience, I was able to put a wry spin on it. One woman who heard it told me she couldn’t stop laughing. I suspect she’d had a similar episode in her own past.

I believe the equation goes like this: h = ba + t, where “h” stands for “humour”, “ba” stands for “bloody awful”, and “t” stands for time. If the equation doesn’t work, just add more time until it does. There’s a reason people say, “Someday we’ll look back at this and laugh.” After a millennium or two you can probably laugh at nearly anything.

There’s a little more to writing humour than a horrible experience plus time. I believe depression helps, too. When I was officially diagnosed with depression, many years ago now, a friend of mine told me that she thought my mood swings were something that came with being an artist. Apparently it also goes with humour; many comics suffer from depression. We may use humour as a coping mechanism a little more than the average person because without humour the average person would cry, but without humour we’d step in front of a bus.

Someday I’d like to teach a workshop on writing humour. I believe anyone can do it, except possibly people who can’t tell a joke to save their lives. It’s fun, and also therapeutic; laughing at your own problems, or even just trying to find a way to make other people laugh at them, helps your endorphin levels.

I guess that’s why I go on doing it. And sometimes it helps, when I’m really upset, to think that someday I’ll figure out how to laugh even at this.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

