The binge

It’s Labour Day again. The Three Day Novel contest is under way as of 12:01 this morning. I’m involved in a more leisurely version, one of the quarterly writing binges held by To The Point.

I was going to take a break from The Swan Harp and work on another novel for the weekend, but with the feedback I got from my friends Ravi and David, I’m feeling re-inspired and ready to rock. It also doesn’t hurt that I had a pottery break, preparing for the Sylvan Circle Tour on September 17th. So now I’m set to go again, and hoping to get a lot accomplished. I have two relationships I want to work on – the main character’s with her father, and the main character’s with her possible love interest.

I’ve been reading some of my favourite YA novels again, but analytically, trying to figure out why I like them and how and why the writing works – or doesn’t. This may or may not be helpful in the end, but I thought it was worth a try.

I’m not going to obsess over word count – will I get 5,000 or 7,000 words done this weekend? While word count is one way to check on progress, at this point – into the third draft – it’s no longer really useful.

I have other things to work on this month, too. I need to start getting my Writers’ Reserve applications out. (For those of you in Ontario, check out the Ontario Arts Council website for information on how to apply.) I think I’ll also have a go at Canada Council this year.

I was really discouraged a few weeks ago, but the help I got from my friends, and the book deal for Shepherd in Residence, have boosted my confidence again. It’s only doing the work, after all. It may feel like pulling teeth at times, like slogging, but if I just keep slogging, I’ll get there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The binge

  1. Father Steve says:

    “It’s only doing the work, after all. It may feel like pulling teeth at times, like slogging, but if I just keep slogging, I’ll get there.” ~Elizabeth Creith

    “Genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration.” ~Thomas Alva Edison

Leave a Reply

