Running as hard as I can

I can’t believe it’s been so long – nine days! – since I wrote here. There’s been a lot going on, but things are settling down now, and starting next week I’ll be able to get back into a routine that I hope will give me at least an hour of writing time every day, and perhaps more.

One really wonderful thing is that the new job at the call centre is one of those where they don’t try to control everything. As long as you can take the calls and solve the problems, you’re allowed to knit, read or – ta-da! – write between calls. There’s not a lot of time, but it’s possible that I could get five hundred words done in a day. That would let me keep up with my posts for this blog, and possibly some other assignments, too.

I’ve been working double time, I feel, these last few weeks. Getting used to a regular work week again has definitely been an adjustment. Learning to fit my writing into the time around work has been another. So far, so good, and I’m happy with my progress. I’m even keeping up with the poet-for-hire gigs I’ve had over the last couple of weeks.

For most writers a day job is a fact of life. I’ve been fortunate to have so much time as a full-time writer without being a household name or a regular columnist in a highly-paid magazine. At the same time, I feel I’ve made good use of the time I’ve had, getting the third draft of The Swan Harp well under way, making valuable connections as an article writer and beginning to really develop a regular online presence. This blog has been going for less than eighteen months, for example. It now feels like a part of my life, and I’ve missed having the time and energy to write it.

“You do what you have to do” has been the running theme of the last two weeks. Fortunately for me, what I’ve had to do has turned out also to be something that I enjoy doing. I’m still on a steep learning curve, with a lot of information to be assimilated over a short time, but I’m getting there, and I like the work and the people I work with.

I’m sorry to be losing my seven days a week of writing time, but I know I can make this work. Keeping the money demons quiet helps, and I’m already beginning to develop more discipline about writing. Stay tuned for further developments. I promise the next post will be sooner than nine days.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Fumbling towards competence and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running as hard as I can

  1. Hello, Elizabeth!
    Just what you needed, a comment to answer–Ha!
    Do you ever encounter an editor who messes up your work?
    How do we deal with that?
    Thanks.

    • ecreith says:

      Hi, Katharine!
      Well, once I’ve run into that. I have a good editor at the Sault Star. He fixed something in a story (because I’m still learning all the ins and outs of writing a good newspaper article) but while his newspaper-editorial eye is better than mine, he made a grammar error that I didn’t want under my byline. I asked him if he could fix it, explained why and suggested a change. He did it for me, which I understand not all editors will do. So perhaps a polite question about “why these edits” is in order. Of course, it’s your story. If you don’t want the edits, you can always say no. It may mean you don’t get published, or at least not in that publication right then, but you have to decide what matters more to you.

Leave a Reply

