Writing and rolling

For the last couple of months I’ve been working on The Swan Harp in the car on the way to work. I wasn’t sure how this was going to pan out – I’ve always been an at-the-desk sort of writer. Some time ago I read an article about changing where you write, or even your position, as a way to free your creativity. (The guy who wrote the article was pictured lying on the sofa with his laptop in his lap.) I was skeptical, to say the least.

When David suggested I increase my available writing time by writing on the way in to work in the car (while he drove – I just want to be very clear about that!) I agreed to try it, but I really didn’t think it would be workable. Too many distractions, too short a time, the car is moving, I’d be too aware of my surroundings, blah, blah, blah.

To my surprise, it works, big time. Sheer production is one thing; I’m writing at a pace of 500-800 words per hour as a regular thing. It’s a rare day when I don’t write at least 500 new words. I’ve done that at the desk, but not as regularly. This is every day. I can finish a scene between Thessalon and Echo Bay – about 60 kilometres.

The second thing is that I’m not having any trouble getting into my world. I give myself the twenty-minute span from home down to highway 17 to check out the wildlife and the progress of the bush towards spring and talk to David. Then I get out my laptop, plug it into the charger, and open my draft. I’m deep into the world of my novel almost immediately. When I finish my scene and come back to this world, I have that same coming-up-out-of-deep-water feeling that I do at my desk.

But the truly amazing thing for me is this: it has shaken something loose. My characters are doing things I didn’t expect. My reckless, carefree character is developing compassion and giving my protagonist good advice, and it’s coming straight out of her and the demands of the plot; I didn’t decide she would become this deeper thinker. Plot offshoots are springing up like lilac suckers. I have notes about things I have to weave into the story to lead up to stuff that is happening now, and which needs to happen.

I’m surprised, and also pleased, by this development. I’m thinking I need to do more of this, even if it’s only taking my laptop outside beside the fish pond and writing in my deck chair. Maybe I need to practice coffee-shop writing, or out-in-nature writing, or more travelling-writing. It would be interesting to see what a change of work venue would do for my humour, or my pet-related pieces. I’ve gone from skepticism to advocacy in a matter of weeks.

Routine has its place, but if you’re stuck, or even just short of time, I seriously recommend getting your laptop, or your notebook, out and writing on the way to that day job.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Fumbling towards competence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing and rolling

  1. jbucklew62 says:

    I’ve had to change my home office space now that I can’t climb three sets of stairs. I have found that as long as I have a window on the world I can be productive. Continued success. Janet

  2. Sounds like it gets results.

  3. I’m glad you cleared up that your husband was driving while you wrote. I had images of you balancing your laptop on the steering wheel! lol Then I thought you might be using a voice recorder. Anyway, I’m glad it’s working for you. I’ve been trying to figure out a new place to write, although in the car won’t work as Hubby & I don’t commute together. I’ve thought about coffee shops. In warmer weather, I might sit out on the deck if I can find a comfortable deck chair. It’s good to read that it works for you and makes me more determined to find a place where I will be more productive. 🙂

  4. ecreith says:

    It really surprised me that this worked! There’s always something new to learn about writing, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

