Recharging the batteries

Yesterday David and I did something that we haven’t done for way too long. We took a day off and went out together. Our day off was at Science North, the science centre in Sudbury. We had a fun day, all too short, and we plan to go again in the near future.

For some years we’ve been short of money, or time, or both. There was always more work to do than time to do it in, and little or no money for fun. Fun was something we’d have later. Well, there’s much less “later” left than there used to be, and I guess this week I had a little meltdown and realized that between the work I have to do for money and the amount of effort I’ve been investing in writing, and the stuff that always needs to be done at home, I have moved fun not simply to the back burner, but right off the stove. It might not even be in the kitchen.

It was pretty scary not to be able to remember the last time we’d gone out for fun alone. It was also saddening to realize that the things we could have done this summer – swimming, canoeing and so on – we had let pass by. There are things to do around here, but most of the entertainment happens on nights when we’re working. Frankly, I find Sault Ste Marie rather short on interesting things to do. I’ve spent a lot of time at the Ermatinger Clergue Historic site, and the Sault Museum, and gone to the Bushplane Museum a couple of times, and there you are.

David suggested Science North. We got up at eight – which is really early for people who get home from work at 2 a.m. – and drove down to Sudbury. I knew we’d missed the Bodyworks show, which was disappointing, but David had gone online and persuaded me that there was enough even without that to interest me.

I wasn’t disappointed. We didn’t get to see everything, because we like to spend time at exhibits, and not rush through. We spent ten or fifteen minutes at the orrery , and could have spent longer. I want an orrery.

We caught feeding time for Rosie the skunk and Drifter the beaver. We spent what was for me a very happy and absorbing hour in the lapidary lab, learning the fine art of cutting and polishing stone. I now have a lovely little piece of turatella agate with one polished end. I deliberately left the other end rough. Turatella agate contains fossilised snail shells and looks gorgeous when polished.

That hour also made me wonder about lapidary in Celtic Britain and mediaeval Europe. Without power grinding wheels, what did they use to cut and polish stone? One more thing to look into, even if I never specifically write about it.

After Science North closed, we went out for supper, then to two bookstores, one new, and one used-book store. I was incredibly restrained, may I say. Yes, I was. I came home with only five books, four of them previously loved, and I still had money in my pockets.

Today the world looks brighter, and life seems full of possibilities. I suppose this goes to show that even if you really love what you do, sometimes you need to take a holiday from it.

This entry was posted in Out in the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recharging the batteries

  1. So glad you got to take this time! It is important, I guess you know. My favorite part of vacation is coming home feeling more like getting with it. 🙂

  2. LadyGrave says:

    I didn’t know you live in the Sault! I went to Northern Michigan University for 5 years, and I’ve been through both Sudbury and Sault Ste Marie during the trip from Maine to Michigan many times. I never had much time to explore, though. Sounds like you had a fun day. 🙂

  3. Keith says:

    Funny how such a small thing can be so overlooked. A good lesson to be learned.

  4. They say that a change is as good as a rest and your excursion to Science North proves it! Glad you were able to recharge your batteries and spend some quality time together _ and Science North sounds very interesting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

