I hate indecision. Or maybe not.

Having spent a large chunk of my life in the world of The Swan Harp in recent months, I decided to go for a change of pace and work on a YA SF dystopian-future transgenic-human novel.

I wrote about 7000 words on it, and then found that the Iron Age world of The Swan Harp kept intruding. This past week I gave in and decided to get back to the world I know. I started the second book, provisionally titled “The Bog”. I feel much better, and the writing also seems to be moving along well.

Of course I’m having the usual problems figuring out where to start. David came up with a good suggestion which requires me to write a bit of myth-and-legend stuff. I love that, and it will also allow me to work out and introduce backstory without trying to figure out how to get it into conversation.

I don’t like havering, wavering, back-and-forthing; all that uncomfortable time when you’re trying to make a choice. Decide and get on with it, I say. My mother used to say, “Buy it and stop shopping”, which means that once you’ve bought your gadget, you don’t look at sale prices, but never mind, I think it’s also applicable to the “get-off-the-pot” situation.

Keeping one’s options open isn’t always the best thing. It can lead to dissatisfaction, lack of accomplishment and wasted time and energy. I thought I’d made a decision in the time when my options were open, that stretch when I was done one novel, but not yet into a second. Clearly I was wrong about how open my options really were. Kiar is a persistent character, and she has a lot more to do. She wants to get on with things, and she wants me to write about them. I acquiesce.

Sorry, mutant transgenics. Not your turn yet. I think.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Fumbling towards competence and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I hate indecision. Or maybe not.

  1. It’s good that you recognize that everything has its time. Sometimes taking a break helps solidify thoughts on a previous project. It seems to have worked, in your case. Glad the muse is giving you lots to work with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

