A new year

I inadvertently took a whole month off – off of writing, off of blogging, off of quite a lot of my normal life. I looked up, and December was gone, and so was 2012.

It wasn’t just the rejection – I actually recovered from that fairly quickly, and I’m set to start a new round of submissions this week. The big thing was that my shift was changed on my day job, and I went from a 4:00 p.m.-12:30 a.m. workday to a 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. one.

This may sound like a Good Thing, but because of the long drive to work, it really isn’t. I have to get up at 4:30 a.m., take water to the chickens (who aren’t awake, either), see that Sky has some playtime, get pressed-and-dressed for work, have my coffee and breakfast, and be on the road no later than 5:35 a.m. If we have no errands, we get home between 5:30 and 6:00, eat supper and crash about 9:00 pm.

Theoretically I have three hours between home and bedtime. Mostly I’m too wiped to use them to good advantage writing. We’ve found this shift hard to live with and schedule around. We also both got the flu, and, of course, there’s all the stuff around Christmas. One way and another, writing got shoved to the back burner.

I’m not thrilled that that happened, but I’m not really upset, either. A few years ago, before I started this blog, I had a horrible two-month stretch in which I couldn’t write, no matter how much I wanted to. That was bad, because it felt like my abilities had abandoned me. This time I knew that wasn’t the case. I had three poet-for-hire gigs land in my inbox in a single week; I got them all done on time and my clients were happy with my work.

December’s hiatus was a confluence of circumstances. I needed to sleep, for one. I needed to get well, and I needed to have family time, and time to do stuff like bake cookies, which I really only do at Christmas. I’m sorry I left my followers high and dry for a month – and with no warning, either – but I’m back now. Back to my regular schedule starting next week, back to health, and back from the holiday bustle. It was fun, and I’m glad it’s done.

Goals for the new year: a monthly Art Therapy day with my friends, a monthly writing binge, another round of submissions and a new novel draft. Pitching articles to new markets, reviving old ones. Moving the office to the bedroom and the bedroom to the office. Another garden, more chickens in the spring, maybe rabbits. Time spent in my bright orange Adirondack chair with a glass of wine or lemonade, enjoying the outdoors. Work on a writing business. Enjoy life.

Happy 2013.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Fumbling towards competence, Out in the World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new year

  1. Your goals sound wonderful. Especially the art therapy–I’m excited for that. As for the rest, many of mine are similar to yours (since we’re in them together). I have many more to set. I love goals. I love having things to work towards. I also love blogs and look forward to reading yours throughout 2013. Once again, Happy, happy New Year Elizabeth!

  2. lucinda kempe says:

    God Gog, but you inspire, E. What grit and determination. How lovely to see you back to being La P. Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

