Day one!

It’s been an eventful first day of the binge. To start with. last night we had a kick-off dinner, with bubbly to celebrate my grant, and my progress so far on The Last Black Swan. Shortly after midnight I went to bed – staying over at Angie and Gordon’s in their guest room – and a few hours later, Gordon, making a 3 a.m. fridge raid, stepped on the cat at the top of the stairs and took a header straight to the bottom. His head hit the stained-glass window in the front door. Angie woke up, and there was panic and yelling and swearing and a trip to the local hospital, where Gordon got four stitches. Both I and their daughter Cassidy slept blissfully through the whole thing. Gordon now has a spectacular head wound – though no concussion or other serious injury – and a story which is already acquiring humourous addenda.

In spite of all this excitement and stress, and being in charge of lunch cleanup and supper preparation, I managed to get 6,000 words written today. I’m quite surprised because I didn’t seem to be going that fast. Angie often says that the sound of my slow pecking away encourages her. If I, writing at a speed that would leave any serious typist rolling with laughter, can make multi-thousand-word progress on a story, then she can, too. At least, she can on a day that doesn’t involve having to take her best beloved to the hospital to be stitched up and have X-rays.

So now to bed. Tomorrow I have no meals to do, so that will be my workhorse day. Aiming for another 6,000 words at least. The binge rules!

This entry was posted in Doing the Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day one!

  1. Woo hoo! GO for it, Elizabeth! Keep up the posts!

  2. Glad your binge has been successful, writing-wise so far, despite the cat-related injuries to your host! Hope you find the rest of the weekend equally productive. 🙂

  3. lucinda kempe says:

    Go E! Reading about the work ethic of Virginia Woolf and she, too, plugged away 7 days a week for four hours in the morning. No other way to get all that writing done. Thrilled you are doing what you love full time.

  4. ecreith says:

    Thank you, ladies! I’m so happy to have this opportunity, and I mean to make the most of it. I know where my story is going, and it’s just a matter of, as you say, Lucinda, plugging.

Leave a Reply

