Closing in on the end

I believe I’ll be done the first draft of “The Last Black Swan” in about a week. Lately it’s been going more slowly than I like. Part of it was that this week I had two days away from writing – Art Therapy Day on Monday and a trip to Science North – totally awesome – on Tuesday. But I’m now back on track.

Another reason is that I’m dealing with some very difficult situations in this last part of the book. I need a bit of research, but mostly I need to dig in and just do the deed. I need to finish off the loose ends that need to be tied up. I still haven’t figured out where all the characters will be at the end of this book, but that’s okay. I’m in the “bull through it and fix it later” stage.

It’s exhilarating and scary to be finishing a second novel – and a respectably novel-length first draft, too, not the 27,000 words of my very first first draft, long ago in 2006. A few years ago I wouldn’t have believed this possible. I’ve expanded from being a miniaturist to being a novelist. I’m still a miniaturist, too, but it’s wonderful to be able to sustain a larger story than fifty words, or even a thousand. Finding that I’ve come through this second volume of a three-volume story in such good order, and am eager to get at volume three, is amazing. No, really – I never thought I could do this. Life is full of surprises.

I’ll keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

