Going for the burn!

I’m going to see how much art I can cram into next week. On Monday night we have apoetry reading at Thessalon Libray. On Tuesday, writers’ group, also at Thessalon Library. Wednesday I will be forced to commit art alone at home. Thursday is an auxiliary Art Therapy Day and Friday is the Stories in the North BoD Barbecue. Okay, not strictly art, but I’ll probably commit some art that day, too.

I have been reminded so many times this summer – not by other people, but by circumstances – how lucky I am to have always known what I wanted to be when I grew up. (Still waiting to grow up, mind you, or at least to mature, which I understand is not all it’s cracked up to be.)

Having realized consciously for the first time at the ripe old age of five that I wanted to grow up to do art and write books, I have never suffered the angst of trying to decide what I should do with my life. Okay, not quite true – I have occasionally havered over precisely which art to follow. But I swap them out from time to time, and it’s all good.

And here I am, making art and writing books. You note I never said “making a ton of money at” or “making my living at” or even “selling”, although I do the last regularly, and the second last one from time to time.

I feel blessed and fortunate to have had these three months. Sometimes it seems to me that I havent’ used them as well as I could have (although my sister sometimes says I already work “like a rented mule”). Still, I’ve finished one novel, started a second, done a bunch of poetry and non-fiction stuff, made jam, managed a bit of a social life and sttill managed to keep a head of my financial schedule, which is delightful. I need not worry about running out of groceries or the wherwithal to cook them until the end of September why which time I hope to be a) filthy rich or b) back to gainful employment, one.

In the meantime, my immediate writing goal is to get halfway through “Here be Dragons”, and I believe I can do that and still cram all that other art into the rest of the month. Is it possible to OD on art? I dunno. I’ll tell you if I managed it.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Out in the World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going for the burn!

  1. Keith says:

    It is a blessing to know, or have known, ‘what I want to be when I grow up’.
    Alas, I’m still deciding. The joy of actually being paid to do what you love is a rare thing. (Even if it is a spotty income at that.)
    Take what you love and run with it. In the mean time, I’ll look for my running shoes.

    P.S. I am so jealous of you Elizabeth!

  2. I’m with you this week–except for Wednesday when I’m out on a job…but I’ll bring something along to write in! I think this is a fantastic way to start off September…which I’ve always considered to be the “new” year!

  3. Angie Gallop says:

    Mwahhhh! Here’s to a great week!

Leave a Reply

