Back to work

Tonight I go back to work at the call centre. It’s going to take a while to get used to the new schedule – working 10:30 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. I’m sure I’ll be fine with it. I’m sorry to leave my summer of writing behind, but at least I know I can write in the car. Thanks to my friends Jennifer and Henry, I have a light so that I can see the keyboard on my computer, and I’ll be able to type in the dark.

I’ve done my grant applications for this year, Writers’ Reserve and Canada Council, and we’ll see what that brings. I’m pleased overall with the writing I’ve done, and I’m ecstatic about winning the Louise de Kiriline Lawrence Award. Overall it’s been a productive summer. To finish it off, yesterday David and I came home from Fur and Feather with new chickens, ducks and pheasants for the Wharncliffe Palais du Poultry.

I’m tired right now from the amount of driving we did in thirty-eight hours, and I expect to be tired for a week or so while I adjust to the new work schedule. It’s good, though, to be back at work again. I like having a regular paycheque, and until I hit it big in the blockbuster book department, a job is what I’m going to need.

I’m continuing with the rewrite of The Last Black Swan. I have a couple of very big scenes to write, and some things to sort out that don’t quite make sense to me the way I have them, but I’m hoping to finish fairly soon, say in the next couple of weeks. My readers have been very patient and not bugged me about it, for which I’m grateful.

For now, I have to go take a nap. I need to be alert – for a certain definition of “alert” – tonight, and a little extra sleep is required.

This entry was posted in Doing the Work, Out in the World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to work

  1. Angie Gallop says:

    May the force be with you as you return to work!

Leave a Reply

