Becoming a book marketing magnate

In 2012 “Shepherd in Residence”, my first non-fiction book and my first book for adults, was published. I was, needless to say, thrilled. I still am – seeing your name on the cover, trust me, never gets old!

This year Laurence Steven, the owner and operator of Scrivener Press, is retiring. He wants to go live somewhere where he doesn’t have to make his Hallowe’en costume fit over a parka, go figger. This means that he’s closing down Scrivener Press.

He gave me the opportunity to buy out the remains of the print run for “Shepherd” and take over the marketing, which I want to do. With that in mind, I began looking for how I could afford to buy my books and save them from being pulped.

The solution, suggested to me by my friend Jennifer Bulman, was crowdfunding. With some coaching from her and a friend of hers who successfully crowdfunded a project, I’ve set up a site at GoFundMe.com. I’m hoping to raise enough money to buy out the print run and then market it, both in print and on the internet.

I find it difficult to ask for help, but that’s exactly what I’m doing now. If any of you might be interested in supporting my venture into the wild world of book marketing, please visit my site at .

I’m already touched by how many people have donated. I’m offering some things by way of thanks – an inscribed copy of “Shepherd” mailed to anyone who donates $25.00, a pair of handknit wool socks for a donation oof $100. Anyone who donates $500 – well, I’ll make them a North Atlantic lace shawl, in the traditional pattern.

This is a brand new adventure, and I’m looking forward to it with both excitement and trepidation. Where, for example, am I going to put all those books?

Thanks for your attention, and for any help – or good wishes – offered!
flock at barn 1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Becoming a book marketing magnate

  1. tinasonmain says:

    Elizabeth I couldn’t find you on gofundme. What’s the name of the campaign? Tina

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

