Happy Solstice!

Yes, I know, I have been scarce lately. December, don’tcha know, and somehow things just got out of hand. I’ve been working on learning a new video programme, and dealing not only with the steep learning curve there, but also with getting my computer and the programmes to work together. Thanks to my resident geek, David, it all came together, although I still have things to learn. It always takes more time than expected, too.

Last year I solicited photographs from my brother and sister and put together a photo calendar, which we liked so well we decided to do it again. Of course, when I went to the site I’d used last year, it had closed. It redirected me to a different site, which does not do calendars.

Enter David (again), who found the best-rated calendar site and figured out how to use it. It took us several hours – probably five or six – to do that, and then an hour to put the calendar together.

I’ve also been making cookies, because ’tis the season. All this to explain my absence, but chances are that most of you have been in similar boats in this little puddle we call Christmas, and maybe haven’t even noticed.

wye-marsh-walk

The snow finally arrived, after a long, mildish November, and in spite of the fact that it arrived late, people are still looking befuddledly at the sky and the road and saying “Where’d this come from?” And the city of Sault Ste Marie still has a snowplough-blades-don’t-touch-the-pavement policy, which means that once you hit the city limits, you need a dog team and sled. Just sayin’, as someone who drives down Highway 129 five days a week and finds it better maintained than the city streets.

Although speaking of highways and snow, I’ve had a first this week. On Thursday last I drove down to Thessalon for Art Therapy Day with my friend Pauline. When I reached the bottom of 129, where it connects with 17, I found a line of transport trucks off to the east and a barrier across 17 to the west. The highway was closed for several hours. I took a few snaps and sent them off to my editor, Jeffrey Ougler. One of them made the front page of Friday’s Sault Star. I think this is the first time I’ve hit the front page, and while the Sault Star isn’t exactly the London Times, I’m still chuffed.

So to all of you, Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah, Good Yule, Happy Solstice, Happy Hogswatch, or whatever midwinter festival you celebrate. As of 5:45 this morning we are on our way back to the light. Enjoy your feast and your gifts, and your parties and friends. And thanks for stopping in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Solstice!

  1. Yes, moving towards the light. Back to you, dear Elizabeth and David. Nothing like a handy man.

Leave a Reply

